MEF.DEV platform (preview) intro

The MEF.DEV cloud platform provides accelerated development, hosting and application management capabilities for independent developers and teams based on the Managed Extensibility Framework through an agile development process based on continuous integration principles. It has a user-friendly interface that simplifies the process of developing integration applications with a good level of service agreement and based on enterprise-approved standards for authorization, authentication, managed deployment with standardized approaches to monitoring and SOX controls.

The basic functions of the platform include processes that require standardization within the software development process of a particular enterprise - thereby setting out of the box standard approaches for a number of important phases of the SDLC process:

The platform REST API as the main element of the solution expands the functionality of plugins available in it, for example, the BSS system, providing access to its resources, such as personal accounts, subscribers or services, using unique URI values ​​for external interaction or the names of entities within the same domain - for re-use (internal interaction). To use the REST API, you just need to send an HTTP request and parse the response. The REST API uses JSON or XML as the exchange format combined with the standard HTTP GET, PUT AND POST methods:

  • GET returns data. This method does not change the data stored on the server
  • PUT modifies an existing data record by ID and full data model
  • POST creates a new data record
  • DELETE deletes data record by ID

Entities as unique resources

Unique URI values ​​are automatically exposed by the MEF.DEV platform when a specific version of data models (entities) is published. Entities provide access to business logic and specific (native) data storage using the Managed Extensibility Framework (MEF). MEF is much more than Dependency Injection or Inversion of Control - it gives Enterprise developers easier configuration and consistent management in larger projects without worrying about when, where, or how a particular application/plugin/module is configured, and no matter how they use the embedded application/plugin/module - getting exactly the implementation they want. MEF is designed to help developers connect and use what they don't know how to implement internally. It is expandable "by nature" and contains stable exposure features that keep expanding Enterprise projects secure in real time. In other words, after one developer launches the application by uploading it to the MEF.DEV platform, other developers, creating other plugins, can use this plugin or its new version in real-time without reloading - i.e. "on the fly".

The visualization of the content of a specific plugin (in fact, the implementation of a specific developer) gives transparency to all other platform participants, for example, the visualization of the Natec.Entities plugin for the BSS domain looks like this:

OpenAPI format

We want to improve your integration development workflow with our REST API - for this reason we have created a flexible and continuous integration process tool for the enterprise SDLC process. At the moment we offer a general plugin (this is just one file) that can be used in the process of self-development of applications - you can also get "out of the box" automatically generated documentation for the REST entities you create based on decorator attributes.

You can browse plugin examples in our repo GitHub. Video tutorials for developers are available by the lynk

MEF purpose

What tasks is MEF intended to solve? In the .NET environment, there was no uniform tool for solving problems of extending applications, therefore, when such problems arose, each developer solved it in his own way, to the best of his knowledge, skills, task requirements. It is quite obvious that this situation leads to the creation of code that is architecturally (or fundamentally) incompatible with each other.

MEF aims to overcome this problem and provides a unified way to address the architectural challenges of application extensibility. Achieving the goal of MEF - spreading a uniform approach - will make life easier for us for developers and make maintaining someone else's code or writing extensions to someone else's applications much easier and in a familiar (logical) manner.

Ideally, a developer who has studied MEF will be able (without much difficulty and lengthy architecture study) to develop components for all sorts of projects on the .NET platform, written by any other company or individual. And thus, MEF is able to solve the problem of mutual understanding between developers by offering a common language of communication.

Basics

The key to the success of MEF as a tool lies in its simplicity. MEF is built on just three functional parts: import, export, and composition. By using imports, you characterize parts of your application as extensible. A third-party developer uses the export functions to create a separate component (part, plugin) dedicated to your application. And, at runtime, you use composition functions to connect the import parts with the export parts. Let's consider these stages in more detail.

Import

At figure below is the definition of a certain class that implements the exported part of the extension in MEF.

This defines an automatic property, the type of which is determined by some interface IPlugin. The Import attribute, which is part of the MEF framework, marks the property as imported. The property itself thus becomes part of the import, and the type of the part will be the IPlugin interface.

Notice the Import: typeof (IPlugin) attribute parameter in this case defines the so-called MEF contract. A contact is a unique identifier that uniquely identifies the import part, the export part, and thus allows MEF to connect both parts during composition. Simply put, when defining a contract, you provide a password that part of the extension must name in order to connect to the import point. Later in this chapter, contracts will be discussed in more detail.

Export

Exported part

Here a certain FirstPlugin class is defined, which implements the IPlugin interface (part of the import in the previous topic was defined using it). Using the Export attribute from the MEF framework, the class is marked as an exportable part (you could say “plugin”). Note that the parameter of the Export attribute is the contract declared as typeof (IPlugin).

Defining the same contract for import and export allows MEF to find each other's intended parts.

Composition

After defining the imported and exported parts, you need to compose them

Composition refers to the process of finding all defined MEF parts, instantiating them, and assigning instances of the exported parts to the import parts. In other words, during the composition process, plugins marked with the export attribute are connected to the parts of your when marked with the import attributes.

Composition

This is where the composition container is instantiated (the container is part of the MEF infrastructure). After that, the ComposeParts method is called on the container, the parameters of which are an enumeration of elements in which MEF should search for parts for composition. In this case, this is an instance of the current class and new FirstPlugin () is an instantiated plugin that we marked with the Export attribute in the previous section.

After calling ComposeParts, this and FirstPlugin instances will be written in container, and the Plugin part being imported will get the value of the FirstPlugin instance.

Contracts play an important role in the composition process, which allow us to specify which parts of the export we expect in a particular part of the import.

Contracts

Contracts in the MEF infrastructure play an important link between the import and export parts. Contracts are necessarily explicitly or implicitly defined when importing or exporting parts. In fig. Above, the typeof (IPlugin) expression is used as a contract, which uniquely identifies the type of the IPlugin interface.

In fact, the MEF framework contains several options for defining a contract on import:

Options for defining contracts by import

ImportAttribute(Type) by specifying a transfer type (as we discussed above)
ImportAttribute(String) by passing the contract name as a string - in this case, you must ensure that such a string is unique among other contracts
ImportAttribute(String, Type) by passing both the name of the contract as a string and its type - this can be useful when there is a need to create several different contracts for the same type
ImportAttribute() if the contract type was not passed to the import attributes (Import and others), then it will be determined automatically based on the type to which this attribute is applied. Thus, you can omit the typeof (IPlugin) parameter.

In cases where the contract name was not passed, it is generated automatically using the GetContractName method, which returns the complete string type definition including its namespace. As already mentioned, if the type of the contract is not specified, then it is also obtained automatically.

For export attributes, the same rules apply as for import. But when defining an export using the Export attributes and others, it is important to understand the following behavior: if the type and name of the contract are not specified, they will be automatically obtained based on the type of element to which the attribute is applied. In other words, if in the example in Fig. The "exported part" omit the typeof (IPlugin) parameter, then the MEF will automatically determine the contract based on the FirstPlugin type, but not the IPlugin as we need it. This means that if you are building the exported part based on basic interfaces or classes, then you need to explicitly specify its type for the contract.

Представляем preview MEF.DEV Platform

Облачная платформа MEF.DEV предоставляет возможности ускорения разработки, хостинга и управления использованием приложений для независимых разработчиков и компаний-разработчиков на основе Managed Extensibility Framework с помощью гибкого процесса разработки на принципах непрерывной интеграции. Она имеет удобный интерфейс, который упрощает процесс разработки интеграционных приложений с хорошим уровнем соглашения об обслуживании и на основе утвержденных на предприятии стандартов авторизации, аутентификации, управляемого развертывания со стандартизированными подходами к мониторингу и SOX-контролям.

К базовым функциям платформы относятся процессы, требующие стандартизации в рамках процесса разработки програмного обеспечения конкретного предприятия – тем самым устанавливая «из коробки» стандартные подходя для ряда важных фаз SDLC процесса:

REST API платформы в качестве основного элемента решения расширяет функциональность доступных в ней плагинов, например BSS системы, предоставляя доступ к ее ресурсам, таким как личные счета, абоненты или услуги, используя уникальные значения URI для внешнего взаимодействия или названия сущностей в рамках одного домена - для пере-использования (внутреннего взаимодействия). Чтобы использовать REST API, достаточно отправить HTTP запрос и проанализировать ответ. REST API использует JSON или XML в качестве формата обмена в сочетании со стандартными методами HTTP GET, PUT AND POST:

  • GET возвращает данные. Этот метод не меняет данные, хранящиеся на сервере
  • PUT изменяет существующую запись данных по ID и полной модели данных
  • POST создает новую запись данных
  • DELETE удаляет запись данных по ID

Сущности как уникальные адресаты

Уникальные значения URI автоматически отображаются платформой UCP после публикации определенной версии моделей данных (сущностей). Сущности обеспечивают доступ к бизнес-логике и конкретному (нативному) хранению данных с помощью Managed Extensibility Framework (MEF). MEF гораздо больше, чем внедрение зависимостей (Dependency injection) или инверсия управления (Inversion of Control) - это дает Enterprise-разработчикам более простую настройку и последовательное управление в более крупных проектах, не заботясь о том, когда, где и как настроено конкретное приложение/блок/модуль, и независимо от того, как они используют внедренное приложение/блок/модуль - получая именно ту реализацию, которую они хотят. MEF разработан, чтобы помочь разработчикам связать и использовать то, что они не знают. Он расширяется по своей природе и содержит функции стабильной экпозиции, которые обеспечивают безопасность расширяющихся Enterprise-проектов в реальном режиме времени. Другими словами, после того, как один разработчик запускает приложение и загружает его на UCP платформу, другие разработчики, создающие другие плагины, могут использовать данный плагин или его новую версию в реальном режиме времени без перезагрузки – т.е. «на лету».

Визуализация содержимого конкретного плагина (фактически реализации конкретного разработчика) дает прозрачность для всех остальных участников платформы, например визуализация плагина Natec.Entities для домена BSS выглядит следующим образом:

Формат OpenAPI

Мы хотим улучшить Ваш рабочий процесс разработки интеграции с помощью нашего REST API – по этой причине мы создали инструмент для гибкого и непрерывного процесса интеграции для корпоративного SDLC процесса. На данный момент мы предлагаем общий плагин (это всего лишь один файл), который можно использовать в процессе самостоятельной разработки приложений - Вы можете получить также «из коробки» автоматически сгенерированную документацию для созданных Вами REST сущностей на основе атрибутов-декораторов.

Вы можете посмотреть примеры плагинов в нашем репозитории GitHub, также доступны видео-уроки для разработчиков доступны по ссылке

Назначение MEF

Какие же задачи призван решить MEF? в .NET-среде не существовало единообразного инструмента для решения задач расширения приложений, потому, когда такая задач возникала, каждый разработчик решал ее по-своему, в меру своих знаний, умений, требований задачи. Вполне очевидно, что эта ситуация приводит к созданию кода, который архитектурно (или принципиально) несовместим друг с другом.

MEF нацелен на преодоление этой проблемы и предлагает единый способ решения архитектурных задач расширяемости приложения. Достижение цели MEF – распространение единообразного подхода – позволит упростить нам разработчикам жизнь и сделать сопровождение чужого кода или написание расширений к чужим приложения значительно проще и в знакомой (закономерной) манере

В идеальной перспективе, разработчик, который изучил MEF, будет способен (без особых сложностей и длительного изучения архитектуры) разрабатывать компоненты для всевозможных проектов на платформе .NET, написанных любыми другими компаниями или отдельными людьми. И, таким образом, MEF способен решить задачу взаимопонимания между разработчиками, предлагая общий язык общения.

Основы

Залог состоявшейся успешности MEF как инструмента кроется в его простоте. MEF построен всего на трех функциональных частях: импорт, экспорт и композиция. Используя импорт вы характеризуете части вашего приложения как способные к расширяемости. Сторонний разработчик, используя функции экспорта, создает отдельный компонент (часть, плагин), предназначенный для вашего приложения. И, в ходе выполнения, вы используете функции композиции для того чтобы соединить части импорта с частями экспорта. Рассмотрим эти этапы подробнее.

Импорт

На рис. ниже дано определение некоего класса, который реализует экспортируемую часть расширения в MEF.

Здесь определяется автоматическое свойство, тип которого определяется неким интерфейсом IPlugin. С помощью атрибута Import, который является частью инфраструктуры MEF, свойство помечается как импортируемое. Само свойство таким образом становится частью импорта, а типом части будет являться интерфейс IPlugin.

Обратите внимание на параметр атрибута Import: typeof(IPlugin) в данном случае определяет так называемый контракт MEF. Контактом называется уникальный идентификатор, который однозначно определяет часть иморта, часть экспорта и таким образом позволяет MEF соединить обе части в процессе композиции. Проще говоря, определяя контракт вы сообщаете некий пароль, который должна назвать часть расширения для того, чтобы присоединиться к точке импорта. Далее в этой главе контракты будут рассмотрены более подробно.

Экспорт

Экспортируемая часть

Здесь определяется некий класс FirstPlugin, который реализует интерфейс IPlugin (часть импорта в предыдущей теме определена с помощью него же). С помощью атрибута Export из инфраструктуры MEF класс помечается как экспортируемая часть (можно сказать “плагин”). Обратите внимание, параметром атрибута Export служит контракт объявленный как typeof(IPlugin).

Определение одинакового контракта при импорте и экспорте позволяет MEF находить предназначенный друг-другу части.

Композиция

После определения импортируемых и экспортируемых частей необходимо произвести их композицию

Композицией называет процесс поиска всех определенных частей MEF, их инстанцирования и присвоения экземпляров экспортируемых частей частям импорта. Иными словами, в процессе композиции плагины помеченные атрибутом экспорта подключаются к частям вашего когда, помеченными атрибутами импорта.

Композиция

Здесь создается экземпляр контейнера композиции (контейнер – это часть инфраструктуры MEF). После чего, у контейнера вызывается метод ComposeParts, параметры которого представляют собой перечисление элементов, в которых MEF должен искать части для композиции. В данном случае, this – это экземпляр текущий класса и new FirstPlugin() – это инстанцированный плагин, помеченный нами в предыдущей части атрибутом Export.

После вызова ComposeParts, в контейнере container будут записаны экземпляры this и FirstPlugin, а ипортируемая часть Plugin получит значение экземпляра FirstPlugin. Чуть далее мы рассмотрим весь процесс вместе в примере кода.

Важную роль в процессе композиции играют контракты, которые позволяют указать нам какие именно части экспорта мы ожидаем в конкретной части импорта.

Контракты

Контракты в инфраструктуре MEF играют важную связующую роль между частями импорта и экспорта. Контракты обязательно явно или неявно определяются при импорте или экспорте частей. На рис. выше в качестве контракта используется выражение typeof(IPlugin), которое уникально определяет тип интерфейса IPlugin.

На самом деле инфраструктура MEF содержит несколько возможностей определение контракта при импорте:

Варианты определения контрактов при импорте

ImportAttribute(Type) с помощью указания передачи типа (так как мы рассматривали)
ImportAttribute(String) с помощью передачи имени контракта в виде строки — в этом случае, вы должны обязательно гарантировать уникальность такой строки среди других контрактов
ImportAttribute(String, Type) с помощью передачи как имени контракта в виде строки, так и его типа – это может оказаться полезным, когда появляется потребность создать несколько разных контрактов для одного и того же типа
ImportAttribute() в случае, если атрибутам импорта (Import и другие) не был передан тип контракта, то он будет определен автоматически на основании типа к которому этот атрибут применяется. Таким образом, вы можете опустить параметр typeof(IPlugin).

В вариантах когда имя контракта не было передано оно формируется автоматически с помощью метода GetContractName, который возвращает полное строковое определение типа включая его пространство имен. Как уже упоминалось, если не указан тип контракта, то он так же получается автоматически.

Для атрибутов экспорта действуют те же правила, что и при импорте. Но при определение экспорта с помощью атрибутов Export и других важно понимать следующее поведение: в случае, если не указан тип и имя контракта они будут получены автоматически на основании типа элемента к которому применяется атрибут. Иными словами, если в примере на рис. “Экспортируемая часть” опустить параметр typeof(IPlugin), то инфраструктура MEF определит контракт автоматически на основании типа FirstPlugin, но не IPlugin, как нам того требуется. Это означает, что если вы строите экспортируемую часть на основе базовых интерфейсов или классов, то вам необходимо явно указывать для контракта его тип.